RSS

Happy Memorial Day

31 May

There are innumerable things in life that are more important than fossil shells, so today I am taking a break from posting about fossils and paying homage to those who died while serving our country in the military. I have to confess that I always took those in our armed forces a bit for granted, until my oldest son decided to enter the Navy after he finished high school. Since then, I have developed a much better appreciation for, and much more gratitude toward, those who both serve and have served, particularly those who willingly chose this career path and paid the ultimate sacrifice protecting their country and its allies, when only in their late teens / early twenties.

When I took my son to the Baltimore airport a couple of months ago, there was a large contingent of Navy personnel near the security screening section. As it turned out, they were awaiting the arrival of retired veterans who were visiting their respective war memorials in Washington, D.C. courtesy of the Honor Flight Network. When the veterans arrived and came through the security exit, many in wheelchairs and most of a very advanced age (implying they were WWII veterans), and were greeted and applauded by both the Navy personnel and civilian airport visitors, it was one of the most emotional and memorable events I have ever experienced. However, these veterans lived to come home from the war and carry on with their lives. The people we honor today were not as lucky.

Yesterday, I ran across this 2007 YouTube tribute to those laid to rest at Arlington National Cemetery on another blog site, and thought it would be appropriate to share here for the occasion.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 31, 2010 in Random Musings

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment