RSS

It’s Official…I Am An Addict…

15 Jun

As an American who has never self-collected in Europe (except for finding a fossil cerith along the streets of Paris back in 2001), do I really need 61 different specimens of Pterynotus (s.s.) crenulatus and all its different variants??!!  The sad thing is, I know I have even more specimens than this laying around my house that I just haven’t uncovered yet…

Pterynotus (s.s.) crenulatus

Pterynotus (s.s.) crenulatus -- varieties of tricarinatus, tricuspidatus ("asper"), and trigonus, from the Eocene of England and France

As someone who studies collecting behaviors from an academic perspective, I have to stop and wonder, am I actually a collector or a hoarder?? 🙂 (As a comparison, FLMNH has 64 documented specimens, all from France and largely curated from the Vokes / Tulane collections.) In my defense, my love for Pterynotus ranks very close to my love for Typhinae.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment