RSS

If You Can’t Find It Yourself, You Can Always Buy It…

17 Jun

I posted a photo of my fragmentary specimens of Chicoreus (s.s.) elusivus a while back (I’ve since found at least half a dozen more fragments while cleaning my fossil workroom), while lamenting that other collectors seem to have no problem finding complete specimens without even looking for them, whereas I can’t break the curse of the shell’s name to save my life. Well, as the post title suggests, if you can’t find one of your own, just go buy one from someone else! 🙂

I recently found this small specimen of C. elusivus for sale from a shell dealer online. It’s not a real beauty (lacking the long varical fronds that are typical of adult specimens), but it is complete! Whoever originally collected it misidentified it as the much more common Chicoreus (s.s.) dujardinoides, which is only found in the upper beds of the Chipola Formation (this specimen came from the basal beds). Not that I’m complaining! Some of my rarest and most treasured shells have come to me identified improperly. It’s like going to a garage sale and finding a Monet (then buying it for only 5 bucks)! 🙂

Chicoreus (s.s.) elusivus (30 mm; click to enlarge)

Chicoreus (s.s.) elusivus (30 mm; click to enlarge)

For comparison’s sake, here’s an example of C. dujardinoides of exactly the same size (30 mm):

Chicoreus (s.s.) dujardinoides (30 mm; click to enlarge)

Chicoreus (s.s.) dujardinoides (30 mm; click to enlarge)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 17, 2010 in Florida Fossils

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment